It’s been two weeks, let’s have some cookies.

A New Class of Chocolate Chippers


Every now and then my compulsive-compulsive tendency triggers a flash frenzy of impromptu baking, and when wound adequately tight, I sometimes disregard the golden rule of preemptively laying out all ingredients. This almost always results in either disaster or overwhelming mediocrity, but my most recent bout of inappropriate zeal inadvertently delivered my Toll House Chocolate Chippers to an entirely new level. My usual variation follows the package recipe but cuts the flour by 1/4 C, increases the salt, and, if budget allows, uses the good vanilla. I almost can’t believe I notice a difference with cage-free/natural eggs, and it may be nothing more than the absence of bitter guilt, but I do.

Having creamed the sugar and butter, I opened the cupboard to grab the light brown sugar, of which there was none. I caught myself just in time with a “son of a biscuit!” as I remembered Billy the Kid’s presence, and proceeded with a stiff upper lip and dark brown instead, since going to bed early is no longer an option when I’m confronted with adversity. In an additional kick to the apron, time seemed to have gotten away from me, and the dinner hour threatened to usurp the oven mid-bake, so I made the cookies three times the standard household size. The first cynical bite unexpectedly transported me to the ultra thin, crisp yet chewy, more buttery than sweet middle-upper class, and I realized that, a: I’d like to get back there as soon as possible, and b: this cookie is screaming for branding.

2 C flour
1 1/4 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 sticks/1 C salted butter
3/4 C sugar
3/4 C dark brown sugar
2 cage-free/natural eggs
2 tsp Bourbon vanilla paste
1 12-oz pkg/2 C Nestle Toll House Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels

Set your oven to 375. Put the butter on a small plate and microwave it for about 25 seconds to get it soft, but stop as soon as it starts to melt. Toss it into a large mixing bowl with the sugar and cream until fluffy, then add the brown sugar and combine until the color’s even throughout. Add the eggs and vanilla, and beat by hand until it’s smooth. Stir in the flour, baking soda and salt, and mix it up until the sides and bottom of the bowl are clean, then incorporate the chocolate chips. Spoon the dough onto cookie sheets, into 2 1/2″ roundish piles. You’ll get about 6 per 14 x 16 sheet, and I highly recommend these after using the same pair for over 3 years with consistently outstanding results. Bake single sheets for 13 minutes, but check in at 10. As Mr. S would say, “when they look delicious, they’re done.”

One response

Leave a Reply

