Christmas Shopping for People Like Me

This year I’m taking care of a few household needs with my wishlist, including a new rug for the living room and a Singer machine, as I tire quickly of hand-sewing my curtains. There are still, however, a few kitchen items that have managed to elude me over the years, of which I was freshly reminded while perusing the Williams-Sonoma holiday catalog. Here are some delightful gifts for the kitchen enthusiasts in your life, and don’t be afraid that they might already have one; an excuse to patronize the most justifiably overpriced store on earth is always appreciated.

Microplane Rasp Grater – $14.95
A zesty gadget that doubles as a creative weapon.

Kuhn-Rikon Bread Knife – $19.95
I was excited about this one even before the description promised to reduce my fatigue. Completely unnecessary, deliciously specific.

Oval Scooping Strainers Set of 3 – $49.95
The only time I think to replace my strainers is while I’m watching food fall through the holes. Be somebody’s hero.

All-Clad Cook-Serve Tools Set of 6 – $99.95
Save a friend’s counter-top from the visual abscess of a paint can full of dollar-store cooking utensils.

All-Clad Stainless Steel French Skillet Set – $129.95
This is as close as WS comes to an actual deal. Perhaps Mr. P would like to take advantage of it; I don’t think it’s possible to top the Shun Ken santoku he gave me a few years back, but he can certainly try.

2 responses

  1. Wow, I have two household items that Mrs. P does not – a microplane and a sewing machine! Maybe I’m more domestic than I thought!

Leave a Reply

