My annual liquoring approaches.

Coquito

As previously mentioned, I’m not much of a drinker. Even after I polished off a big bottle of Disaronno in about three days, a guest at one of our parties having introduced me with a gift of it, it never occurred to me to replace it. But every year around Christmas, sooner or later I find myself snuggled into a sofa seat at an in-law’s house, smiling along to the Spanish chit-chat that I can now grasp but still can’t engage in, getting quietly snockered on this deceptively alcoholic, traditional Puerto Rican holiday milkshake that makes eggnog look like a preacher.

1 12-oz can evaporated milk
1 14-oz can sweetened condensed milk
1 15-oz can cream of coconut
1/2 C Bacardi (white)
1/2 C Bacardi Gold
1 tsp vanilla
cinnamon

Put everything into a blender and mix it until it’s evenly combined and foamy. Chill it for a few hours before serving, and keep the reserve in the fridge. Stir well before serving in fancy punch glasses with a sprinkle of cinnamon, or stick a straw in the pitcher and recline the Lazy-Boy.

Leave a Reply

